238 0
Crime Science: Methods of Forensic Detection - Joe Nickell, John F. Fischer
Nationally respected investigators Joe Nickell and John Fischer explain the science behind the criminal investigations that have captured the nation's attention. Crime Science is the only comprehensive guide to forensics. Without being overly technical or treating scientific techniques superficially, the authors introduce readers to the work of firearms experts, document examiners, fingerprint technicians, medical examiners, and forensic anthropologists. Each topic is treated in a separate
290 0
Wainewright the Poisoner The Memoir of Thomas Griffiths Wainewrigh - Regency author, painter, swindler, and probable murderer - brilliantly woven from historical fragments - Andrew Motion
A celebrated British biographer has researched letters, journals, newspaper dispatches, and other historical sources to illuminate the life of Thomas Griffiths Wainewright, a Regency author and painter who fell into debt, attempted a number of scams, and allegedly committed at least one murder. of photos.
313 0
Teller of Tales: The Life of Arthur Conan Doyle - Daniel Stashower
Winner of the 1999 Edgar Award for Best Biographical Work, this is "an excellent biography of the man who created Sherlock Holmes" (David Walton, The New York Times Book Review) This fresh, compelling biography examines the extraordinary life and strange contrasts of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the struggling provincial doctor who became the most popular storyteller of his age. From his youthful exploits aboard a whaling ship to his often stormy friendships with such figures as Harry Houdini and
193 0
Science with a Vengeance: How the Military Created the Us Space Sciences After World War II - David H. DeVorkin
The exploration of the upper atmosphere was given a jump start in the United States by German V-2 rockets - Hitler's 'vengeance weapon' - captured at the end of World War II. The science performed with these missiles was largely determined by the missile itself, such as learning more about the medium through which a ballistic missile travels.
253 0
Science and Civilisation in China, Volume 5: Chemistry and Chemical Technology, Part 6: Military Technology: Missiles and Sieges - Joseph Needham, Robin D.S. Yates
Science and Civilisation in China Volume V Part 6 is the first of the three parts dealing with the arts of war in ancient and medieval China. (Part 7--on gunpowder and all aspects of explosive weapons--has already been published, while Part 8--on cavalry techniques and signaling--is still in preparation.) The present volume opens with an introduction on Chinese attitudes to warfare in general. Four major sections follow: on the making and use of simple bows; on the crossbow, the standard weapon
424 0
Science and Civilisation in China, Volume 5: Chemistry and Chemical Technology, Part 7: Military technology: the gunpowder epic - Joseph Needham, Lu Gwei-Djen, Ho Ping-Yu
The Gunpowder Epic is one of three planned publications on military technology within Dr Needham's immense undertaking. The discovery of gunpowder in China by the 9th century AD was followed by its rapid applications. It is now clear that the whole development from bombs and grenades to the invention of the metal-barrel hand gun took place in the Chinese culture area before Europeans had any knowledge of the mixture itself. Uses in civil engineering and mechanical engineering were equally
323 0
Stuff: Materials World - Ivan Amato
The way our world is, how it got there and where it's going, is a direct result of the stuff we make other stuff out of: the metals, composites, ceramics, plastics and semi-conductors found in every man-made thing around us. From antique china to airplanes, transistor radios and supercomputers--from the Stone Age to the Electronics Age and far beyond--science writer Ivan Amato takes us ona remarkable journey through a breathtaking universe of enlightenment and challenge; revealing the secrets,
299 0
Science and Civilisation in China, Volume 5: Chemistry and Chemical Technology, Part 1: Paper and Printing - Joseph Needham, Tsien Tsuen-Hsuin
Part one of the fifth volume of Joseph Needham's great enterprise is written by one of the project's collaborators. Professor Tsien Tsuen-Hsuin, working in regular consultation with Dr Needham, has written the most comprehensive account of every aspect of paper and printing in China to be published in the West. From a close study of the vast mass of source material, Professor Tsien brings order and illumination to an area of technology which has been of profound importance in the spread of
214 0
A Random Walk in Science - Robert L. Weber
Offers insight into the wit and intellect of the scientific mind through a blend of amusing and serious contributions written by and about scientists. This book mirrors the interactions of science with society. It covers Murphy's Law, the trial of Galileo, life on Earth, and Gulliver's computer.
232 0
The World's Greatest Fix: A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture - G.J. Leigh
In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But